Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-01 - 1:46 p.m.

Merry Meet and Happy Lammas.

MMMMM food, drink and a warm feeling. The Kids invited some of there friends to come. They all asked me about Lammas. So as we sat around the fire I told them, and they asked so many questions and I answered every one.

It made me feel so good to see all these children around me, asking and looking for answers and when I spoke they all sat quietly listening. No preduduce so open minded. Here I sit thinking I taught them a lesson when really they taught me...Adults could learn from this, should learn from the way a child can be so vastly open minded. I am in awestruck.

On a lighter note try this recipe. Its a Samhain dish...But I like it any time. Its going to sound weird and nasty but believe me this dish is very good. It has a wonderful smell when cooking and fantastic taste. PLEASE TRY THIS DISH.

Fried Apples & Onions

1 lb Bacon; sliced

2 lb Onions

2 lb Apples; tart, chopped ( I use granny smith )

2 tb Sugar, brown

Salt pork may be substituted for the bacon

Fry bacon slices in 12" skillet until brown and crisp. Set aside on a warm serving platter.

While meat is frying, peel onions, leaving stems to hold for slicing. To prevent your eyes from watering, hold a slice of bread in your teeth while you slice the onions as thin as possible. Discard stems.

Core apples and cut crosswise in circles about 1/4" thick. Apple skins help the slices hold their shape and add color to the dish, so don't peel unless skins are tough or scarred.

Drain all but 1 tb fat from skillet, then add onion slices. Cook over medium-high heat about 3 minutes. Cover with apple slices in an even layer. Sprinkle brown sugar over all, cover skillet, & cook until tender, a few minutes more. Stir only to prevent scorching. Remove to warm plate with bacon slices.

Yield: 6 Servings

This is a "country" dish, seldom mentioned in cookbooks but recalled by many oldtimers.

You might also like to try fried apples'n'onions with fried potatoes for breakfast sometime.

Let me know if you like it.

Blessed Be

previous - next

about me - read my profile!read other Diar
yLand diaries!

recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!